Kas Kastner
"Never be beaten by equipment."
Home Forum Bio Historical Articles Books
Kastner Cup Gallery Links & Parts Contact Purchase Books

The Kastner Cup

The Kastner Cup is awarded to one Triumph Competitor each year.

First awarded at Mosport Canada in 2003 and then each year after at a different track around the USA. It has been to many famous tracks such as Portland Intl. Raceway, Watkins Glen, New York, Hallet Oklahoma, Laguna Seca and Atlanta Georgia along with Topeka, Kansas, Road America in Wisconsin, ButtonWilow California, Eagle Canyon, Texas, Summit Point in Virginia and the last race at Blackhawk Farms Raceway in Wisconsin. An effort is made to each year to arrange a locality that will give Triumph racers in various sections of the country a chance to compete for the Cup.

The same driver cannot win the cup in successive years. The award is based on 50% for the competitive results on the race track during the event (not necessarily the winner), 25% for the presentation of the car, and 25% for the attitude and interest in Vintage racing.

17h Annual Kastner Cup Event 2019

The 17th Annual Kastner Cup race will be at Buttonwillow Raceway in Central California on May 4 & 5, 2019.

Details and the Registration Form are now available at www.kastnercup2019.com (courtesy of Steve Belfer and Ken Knight).

May 2019 is just around the corner... and you've got work to do. See you at the races.

Here's a video of FOT's Tony Drews and Sean Alexander battling it out at Blackhawk in 2017.

And this is Ken Knight's great video of his race from back in the pack to right up with the TR-6 of Sam Halkias in 2017. Ken was the first TR-4 by a big margin and second overall.

The first year of this award, 2003, was made to Jack Drews in his TR-4. The venue was Mosport Raceway, Ontario Canada.

The 2004 award went to John Wilkins, Spitfire driver. The venue was Buttonwillow Raceway, California.

Jeff Snook was the winner in 2005 at the Atlanta Raceway venue. He won with his Triumph TR-3.

Tom Kreger, with his beautifully prepared TR-6, was awarded the Kastner Cup for 2006, on April 2nd at the Hallet Raceway in Oklahoma.

Chuck Gee, was awarded the Kastner Cup for 2007 with his Spitfire, July 1 at the Miller Motorsports Park in Tooele, UT.

Tony Garmey was awarded the 2008 Kastner Cup driving a TR-250K (owned by Bill Hart whose father had the car restored to perfection). The venue was at Watkins Glen, New York. Photo courtesy of Gary Horstkorta.

Click here for a 5:49 long video of the race. Plus, check out some great photos of the race here. Video and photos courtesy of Andre Rousseau.

Kas and the 7th annual Kastner Cup winner, Mordy Dunst with his Triumph TR-4. Joe Alexander attending. The race was held at the Portland International Raceway in Oregon, September 6, 2009. Photo by Chuck Arnold. Click here for more images of the 2009 Kastner Cup Event.

2010 Kastner Cup winner Keith Files from England (1963 TR-4) with Kas. The race was held at Topeka Raceway Park in Topeka, Kansas on August 22, 2010. Photo by Peggy Kastner. To read an article on the event from the Triumph Club in England (www.tr-register.co.uk), click here.

The weather at Laguna Seca California was cool and breezy, but the driving of Jerry Barker in his impossible, incredible Herald was hot. Read more...

Full Event Results

Randy Williams takes the Kastner Cup at Atlanta Raceway April 28, 2012 with his extremely well prepared TR-3.

Ken Knight, winner of the Kastner Cup after driving his TR-4 incredibly well at Road America, Wisconsin in September, 2013. More...

Greg Blake won the Kastner Cup in his TR-3 on a TR-4 chassis at Eagle Canyon Raceway in May 2014. More...

Mark Wheatley won the Kastner Cup at Summit Point in Virginia on May 17, 2015 in his TR-4. More...

In Sonoma, CA on April 3, 2016 Jerry Barker won the Kastner Cup for the second time in his "Herald from Hell." More...

Jeff Snook took the Kastner Cup also for the second time with his 1961 TR-3A on June 18, 2017. More...

Jim Dolan won the Kastner Cup at the Pittsburgh Vintage Grand Prix Historics in Beaver, PA in July 2018 in his GT-6. More...


Copyright © 2006-2018 R.W. "Kas" Kastner. All rights reserved.